CloudMASTER and CloudGURU Certifications

Thursday, December 29, 2011

Kevin L. Jackson


The National Cloud Technologist Association is bringing the CloudMASTER & CloudGURU certification classes to the Washington Metropolitan Area in 2012.

First introduced in November at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) in Newark, this continuing education program provides a solid technical background in modern web services deployment and administration.

Students will learn concepts, principles, techniques, and practices needed to administer and secure a modern cloud-enabled business environment.

CloudMASTER is comprised of three levels. The foundation program includes all the basics required for understanding Cloud computing services and operational management.

Each of the three training modules can be completed as a stand-alone course and representing its own credential, as follows:

1.) Cloud Technologies - Module One
2.) Cloud Architecture & Design - Module Two
3.) Cloud Operations Management - Module Three

Hands-on computer lab work is a mandatory part of each program. Each course also involves a mandatory online examination. Students who pass each examination are awarded a Certificate for Completion of that module, as well as admission to the next module.

Those candidates who successfully complete all three courses are awarded the designation of CloudMASTER, and a crystal award with your name inscribed.

A CloudGURU Certification Program is designed to provide experienced IT professionals with the skills, knowledge and designation to be considered for employment within areas that include Software-as-a-Service (SaaS), Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) and Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS).

Holders of this certification are change agents within institutions and corporations that begin transitions from traditional infrastructure and legacy applications to innovative cloud models.

This advanced training module also involves 32 hours of classroom training, with hands-on computer lab work and a mandatory online examination. Students who pass the examination are awarded the designation of CloudGURU.

Successful candidiates will also be listed in the National Cloud Guru Database, and have their own public page on the NCTA website. CloudGURU curriculum includes:

• Green field assessment of the enterprise’s current IT landscape.

• Strategy framework for cloud migration.

• Analysis of bottlenecks, pain points, and performance issues.

• Analysis of user needs and geographical distribution.

• Impact on all elements of the firm’s value chain.

• Strategy of migrating applications and data from legacy to the cloud.

• Calculating total cost of migration.

• Cloud service vendor-deliverables management.

• Cost optimization strategies

The Washington Area Open House will be held on Saturday, January,14, 2012 from 10:00am -12:00 noon. Registration is available online at

Cross-posted from Cloud Musings

Possibly Related Articles:
Security Training
Service Provider
Certification Cloud Security Cloud Computing Training CloudMASTER CloudGURU
Post Rating I Like this!
The views expressed in this post are the opinions of the Infosec Island member that posted this content. Infosec Island is not responsible for the content or messaging of this post.

Unauthorized reproduction of this article (in part or in whole) is prohibited without the express written permission of Infosec Island and the Infosec Island member that posted this content--this includes using our RSS feed for any purpose other than personal use.